Attics, Armoires, Old grannies ~

Since our daughter married a few weeks ago I have been thinking of remodeling her old (empty) room upstairs to make it an extra room for quest. I bought a four postered queen bed frame (very Shabby chic) style at a garage sale a few weeks back. It is very tasteful looking. Kind of off white with brown painted stain overlay. So I’ve been thinking of what to put with it and remembered an old armoire of my great grandmothers that is in my attic. PERFECT !!!!!! I think I’ll paint and stain it to match. How exciting !!! Designing on a dime is always fun and challenging to me. Here are a few facts about Armories that might perk your interest. I know it did mine.

Armorie Ideas ~
Graceful proportions and strong vertical lines make the hardworking armoire an ideal purchase. Highly adaptable, it provides serious storage as well as a focal point. Here’s where and how to use one.

• In the living room: Hide electronics or stock a bar.
• In the dining room: Keep dishes and stemware at hand.
• In the bedroom: Store bulky sweaters or increase hanging space.
• In the kitchen: Create an instant pantry.
• In the bathroom: Stow towels and linens out of sight

PS…I’m sure great grandma Cooksey would be proud to know her piece is coming out of the attic:) the piece is well over 100 yrs because my grandmother who gave it to me is 89 and still living and it was her mother’s :)))

It’s the kind with two mirror doors and a mirrored hat box in the center with a row of drawers. Kinda old and rickety but perfect for the Shabby chic look I’m looking for 🙂

Bright Ideas for the home ~ blessings
Teresa~

Published in: on April 26, 2012 at 6:44 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I used my grandmother’s armorie in my baby’s room–the drawers and side area were the perfect smaller size to keep all baby’s clothes neat and tidy! It was very special to have something from my daughter’s great grandmother to use in her room. 😉

  2. I’m sure it will be a showpiece when you are finished with it. Can’t wait to see your new, finished guest room.


Leave a Reply

