Housewives are needed ~

A wife in the house is a very needed thing these days. When the wife is out of the home even 40 hrs a week everything in her home begins to suffer because of her absence. Here are some duties that a wife in the house usually is busy doing during her day while at home. I hope you enjoy your role as the wife in the house. It is a sacred calling, that only you can fulfill. Be the best housewife you can be !!! Everyone in your home will benefit from your efforts.

Teresa ~

Duties of Housewives

A housewife is the traditional female complement to the male breadwinner in a married couple. Exact housewifely duties vary depending on the individual desires and circumstances of the couple; however, there are some commonly accepted duties among housewives.

1. Husband *

Housewives are to care for and support the husband in different ways. This may include making sure the husband has a clean and restful home environment, caring for the husband’s clothes, shopping for the husband’s personal hygiene products, attending the husband’s work functions, listening to the husbands concerns and being intimate with the husband.

2. Children *

If children are present in the household, the housewife is typically responsible for their physical and emotional care as well as their education and development. The housewife bathes and clothes the children, makes sure they are fed, teaches and supervises grooming habits, provides intellectual stimuli such as reading to them or playing games with them, expresses concern for their well-being and shows affection. Other duties include chauffeuring the children to school and lessons, organizing social schedules and helping the children with their homework.

3. House *

The housewife is generally responsible for cleaning, maintaining and provisioning the household. Cleaning duties include organizing, dusting, cleaning, scrubbing, sweeping, vacuuming, doing the dishes and doing laundry. Maintaining the household may include paying the bills, creating and maintaining a household budget, running household errands, mowing the lawn, getting the car serviced and caring for any pets. Provisioning the household can include shopping for food and cleaning supplies as well as buying clothes and accessories for the different members of the household.

4. Food *

Housewives are responsible for providing regular meals for all members of the household as well as planning and providing for other special meals. This includes planning, preparing, cooking, presenting and serving breakfast, lunch and dinner at the house as well as cleaning up afterward. The housewife should prepare packed lunches for weekdays as well as plan and prepare meals and parties for holidays, special occasions and work or school functions.

5. Self *

A housewife has a duty to take care of herself mentally, emotionally and physically. This may include getting proper nutrition and exercise, maintaining a good physical appearance and grooming habits, and developing hobbies and a social life outside of the house. This will help the housewife more successfully fulfill her other duties.

Published in: on August 2, 2011 at 4:21 am  Comments (3)  

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. it is by necessity that I have worked outside our home. I have learned to run my home like a well oiled machine. My girls have learned and are learning very valuable housekeeping tools. My son who is now 13 has been doing his own laundry for about 3 years now. Although I agree with this post some times it just isn’t possible. In this world and economic times it often takes 2 bread winners. We have to raise our daughters to be able to go to college and earn a living…what if it isn’t in God’s plan that she marry at an early age, or at all. Who is to care for her? So putting them all through college requires more money.

    In my women’s group I have spoke on this subject, if at all possible the wife should be at home. I also state that the Proverbs 31 woman worked outside the home (or so it appears) and took care of her home. I have carried a lot of guilt because I haven’t stayed home. But then I know I am helping to provide a better future for our kids and training them to be Helpers at Home.

    Thank you for letting me go on so. Praying you have a blessed day!

  2. I loved this so much. I try to do all I can for my family. I feel very blessed to be a stay-at-home-mom.Thank-you for your encouragement and instruction.

  3. Hi Teresa,
    Thank you for this reminder post. Um. I’m glad that you mentioned
    that the housewife can cut the grass. Somehow it seems that I had
    the idea that the man had to do it, even though I have done it and don’t mind at all.
    My husband enjoys doing his own cooking and prefers to eat by himself….He considers his religion private and will not read the Bible
    with me or pray with me. He says he is a Christian.
    I have been blessed to grow in the LORD by myself. My only living
    son left home in 1996…I was the bread winner for 25 years, and have
    been retired for 10. I am happy to say that I find that now I can
    fulfill the jobs of a housewife fairly well now, but I have had to do alot of healing.
    Regarding #5. If you don’t take care of yourself, you can’t do the rest.
    That was my problem for YEARS. I neglected myself terribly and have
    spent the last 10 years regaining myself.
    I just ran into a book by a Christian therapist entitled “Become the
    Person You Were Meant to Be” by Dr. Beth Blevins Cuja. It is super!
    Blessings,
    Patricia


Leave a Reply

