S-T-R-E-T-C-H that dollar ~

This was taken from a 1979 article entitled ” Home Management” that I found and thought it was still good for us today. I hope you are encouraged by it.

Mrs. Teresa Haley ~

How to S-T-R-E-T-C-H the dollar tips for frugal housewives 🙂

* Wait for sales
* Shop by menu
* Re-use it
* Research major purchases
* Use store brands
* Bypass convenience foods
* Use cars economically
* Bargin over price
* Stick to your list
* Get help from friends
* Use coupons
* Check all bills
* Buy in bulk
* Save energy
* Do it yourself
* Shop prices
* Fix it up
* Barter ( swap skills)
* Gift something you made
* Don’t throw away good food
* Learn to sew

Published in: on April 28, 2011 at 7:21 pm  Comments (4)  

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The book I took this from is called: That They May Train the Young Women, by Ruth Thompson. Hope that helps you ~

    Teresa

    You can buy the book from Barnes and Noble here
    http://search.barnesandnoble.com/That-They-May-Train-the-Young-Women/Ruth-Thompson/e/9781584270492

  2. I have been praying that I find something to truly help me in my role as wife and mother. I have spent the last half hour reading some of your past posts and think my prayers have been answered. I have been looking for something uplifting, positive, and that follows my values. THis blog seems to be exactly what I needed. Thank you. I am leaving feeling uplifted and blessed/

    • Oh Stephanie

      I am so humbled by your comment. May the Lord be blesssed and praised. I am so glad you found encouragement here. I hope you get to visit as often as you have time for. May the Lord richly bless you as a wife and mother. It is a high calling and it deserves our best efforts.

      Many blessings,
      Teresa Haley

  3. All wise advise at this time when money is tight for many families.


Leave a Reply

