Fresh Dishwashers ~

Freshening the Dishwasher
Pour 1 cup of Baking Soda into the dishwasher and run it through the rinse cycle. It will help get rid of some of the grime that collects on the inside of the machine, as well as freshen the smell of the dishwasher. Add a little fresh lemon juice for a great clean smell.

Baking Soda Detergent
Mix together 1 1/2 Tablespoons of Baking Soda with 2 Tablespoons of Borax. Use in place of automatic dishwasher detergent.

Or sprinkle baking soda on top of dirty dishes after they are loaded, but before they are washed. Make sure some of the baking soda is sprinkled in the bottom of the machine. The baking soda will serve as detergent during the first wash, leaving you to only add the detergent for the second wash.

Be encouraged ~
Teresa

Published in: on February 16, 2011 at 3:56 am  Comments (9)  

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks so much for the tip! I’ve been buying special cleaner all these years.

    ((Hugs))
    Laura

    • You are very welcome, friend!!

      ~ Teresa

  2. Love the way the picture makes it look like the pleasure it is to be a homemaker and have extra time to be with the children.
    How one would dress up do to the housework, I love it!
    I am sure this tip works because this works great on so many other things, like the garbage disposal.

    • I know I love that time when women where happy homemakers and had a fresh air about it. Wow, how far we have gotten away from that mental picture for this generation.

      Let’s bring it back πŸ™‚ where is my apron??

      Love
      Teresa ~

  3. Thanks for sharing! I can’t wait to “freshen up” my dishwasher! I prefer to hand wash dishes but my hubby likes to “free” up my time, so he bought me one. Love your blog, I will be a frequent visitor! God Bless!

    • Come by anytime. So glad you found me πŸ™‚

  4. Dear Teresa,

    My husband and I had a portable dishwasher just like the one in your picture, except ours was white! We bought it used when a neighbor was moving. (Second-, 3rd-, 4th-, 5th-, 6th-hand? Who knows how old it was then.) It was the early eighties, and we were living in Navy Housing. Our three sons were in second grade through high school and not that easy on our dishes. When I handed over the $50 for my “new” dishwasher, I was given the distinct impression that I was now the proud owner of a base housing legend, and it would be my duty to pass on (sell) this wonder machine when husband was transferred. I don’t think that dishwasher had ever been off the Naval Air Station, Pt. Mugu reservation before – – ever! Well, after using this wonder machine for 4 years, it began to deposit bonus gunk on all our “clean” dishes. I cleaned it; hubbie took it apart. Unfortunately the hard, hard water on base had taken its toll, and the contraption was rusting out to the point we couldn’t ressurect it to use the last few months we were at NAS,Pt. Mugu. Before junking this worn-out, faithful servant, hubbie removed the butcher block top (just can’t throw away good wood), and then we set the dishwasher’s carcass on the curb for the quarterly Base junk collection. I remember driving off to work that day, wondering if a neighbor who knew the history of this old dishwasher would report that the L—— family had trashed a legend: the “sell-the-good-old-portable-dishwasher-to-the-next-desparate-family” tradition. Really, I felt bad that another family wouldn’t enjoy the pleasure of clean dishes with less labor and damage to the family stoneware.

    Didn’t mean to wander off into the past like that, but that picture really did bring back some memories!

    I really wanted to let you know that I’ve noticed you haven’t posted for a few weeks. Pray you are doing all right and resting in the Lord these days.

    God bless you. Mrs. L. from CO

    • Mrs. L

      Thanks for the long comment. I thoroughly enjoyed it. HAHA when I was a teenager we had a dishwasher just like this one, too. It was a trojan horse. I remember having to roll it over to the sink and “hook it up” to the hot water. Oh, how I loved that thing. I was the only child and dinner dishes was my chore. So when this dishwasher blessing came into the house it was a happy day. Seems like that thing lasted forever. Yes, great memories for sure πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the reminder …

      I have been doing so good. My health is great. God is restoring my health everyday. I just have been so busy with our family rental business and the new health ministry the Lord has laid on my heart. But, I hope to be posting more regularly now. Thanks for asking.

      Love and appreciation !!!!
      Teresa

  5. Thank you for every other wonderful article. The place else could anyone get that type of info in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the search for such information.


Leave a Reply

