Natural Housecleaning ~

Hello friends 🙂 I have been working very hard the last two months or so to get all the toxic cleaners out of my house. I gave several boxes of good smelling cleaners away. But, now I am on a quest to find new non-toxic cleaners for the house. I didn’t realize how many cleansers I used that were toxic and also the strong smells they had. After my 30 day detox and fast my sense of smell was very keen and I have now been trying to go green. This is a whole new way of cleaning but I am excited about the changes.

I have been using dish soap from Whole Foods Market with hot water with a little vinegar for mopping the tile floors. The counter tops I have been washing with hot water and then drying them with a dish towel.

I now use the feather duster for dusting the furniture and every other week or two I polish with Pledge. I am looking for an alternative for the furniture polish, if you know one please share it with me. I am going to try this one below, soon.

For the toilets and bathrooms I use a product called Miracle II in a spray bottle. It works really well. I dilute it with water about 75%. Here are few recipes I found but have not tried them yet. Let me know if you have tried them and what you think of them. Or if you have a better one that you would like to share with me. I am going to experiment with a few of these this week 🙂

Happy Home Blessings !!!
Teresa

Furniture Polish Recipe

Mix in a sprayer bottle:

* 1 cup olive oil
* 1/2 cup lemon juice

Shake well and apply a small amount to a flannel cleaning rag or cleaning cloth. Spread evenly over furniture surface. Turn cloth to a dry side and polish dry.

Homemade Spray Cleaner Recipe

Mix in a sprayer bottle:

* 1 cup white vinegar
* 1 cup water

In the kitchen, use vinegar-and-water spray to clean countertops, lightly soiled range surfaces and backsplash areas.

In the bathroom, use vinegar spray cleaner to clean countertops, floors, and exterior surfaces of the toilet.

Homemade Glass Cleaner Recipe

Mix in a sprayer bottle:

* 1 cup rubbing (isopropyl) alcohol
* 1 cup water
* 1 tablespoon white vinegar

Published in: on January 25, 2011 at 2:53 am  Comments (8)  

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My Family and I got rid of all our toxic cleaners about a year ago. We have been using a mixture of equal parts white vinegar and water in spray bottles with just a few drops of essential oil (whatever you like) to clean practically everything in our home. It works great in the kitchen and bathrooms and even shines all my glass very nicely. I also use vinegar in hot water to mop my floors.

    • Thanks for the comment, and vinegar is so cheap and it only makes good sense to use it. Why I never thought of it before, I don’t know 🙂 Thanks !!!

  2. Sounds good. But what can be used for an oven with baked on deposits? Or a greasy stove-top?

    Maybe just more elbow grease.

    Now that’s green!

  3. I’ve been slowly working at ‘going green’ myself and thought I would share this link for an online guide to less toxic products. It has sections on baby care, personal care as well as household cleaners.

    http://www.lesstoxicguide.ca/index.asp?

    • Thanks for sharing the site. Very nice !!

      Bless you
      Teresa ~

  4. Method makes a great non-toxic polish and several other cleaning products; I purchase them from Target. You can also look them up online and join their website for deals and fabulous ideas.
    I also use Dr. Bronners castille soap; I use the peppermint one for cleaning floors.. it smells amazing and refreshing!

  5. I use vinegar for everything. It works great. For a scrub like for the tub, I used baking soda and vinegar. It’s pretty good but sometimes it doesn’t LOOK as clean as other times… I really have to scrub it. But it IS clean. windows I just use vinegar! I haven’t gotten a good dish soap yet, and vinegar and baking soda may work here I just haven’t used it.

  6. Hi there. I switched to some healthier cleaning habits recently as well. Here is the ‘recipe’ that I use on my floors:
    2 c. white vinegar
    1 c. lemon juice
    2 c. hot water
    1 squirt or up to 1/4 c. dish liquid
    Mix it all then spray onto the floor and mop with a damp mop. Or just use a fill-it-yourself swiffer type mop with washable heads like I do. It works awesome.
    The cool thing is, this same stuff works on just about everything – counters, bath, table, toys…heck, I even use it to wash my veggies instead of the commercial washes. It’s great at taking off the dirt and waxes and things.

    Funny note: I decided rather abruptly to ‘go green’. I was mopping my floor with a cheap mop n’ glo type stuff when I happened to look in my living room and see my 2 y.o. licking the leg of the coffee table. I have no idea why she would do this beyond the fact that she’s 2, but it suddenly dawned on me – she’s always crawling around in the kitchen on her hands and knees where the floor is in easy reach of that tongue – and here I am mopping the same floor with some toxic crud!! *HORROR*

    Yeah, I pretty much switched that day.


Leave a Reply

