In-home walking ~

Hello friends, I am so exciting about the last month or so I have been faithful to my in-home walking exercise and I wanted to share it with you.

First of all, my favorite way is to turn on some very upbeat, happy music (usually black gospel or praise and worship music) or jazz…whatever you like that makes you feel like going.

Then I gather up as many in the house that wants to go on a house walk with me. Kinda like follow the leader type game. We used to do this in the winter months when we were home schooling for PE and stress relief, haha…

I usually am the leader so we walk as fast as we can all through every room, around every coffee table, up and down the stair cases (we have 2), around the pool table, everywhere there is space to keep walking at a high pace.

I set the kitchen timer for 15 – 30 minutes depending upon how much I have time for. This is a great booster for energy, it gets your heart to pounding. Your blood is moving and your spirits are high and usually everyone is laughing.

To step it up a bit add hand weights to your in-home walking regiment.

Also, now that the children are grown nobody want to walk with momma anymore so what I am doing now I really like. It is a in home walking DVD by Leslie Sansone. She has a 1,2,3 and 4 mile walk. She is very easy only 4 steps. It is not a dance routine. It is so simple but it gets the job done. The 2 mile walk is my favorite and it takes me 30 minutes.

I play it on my laptop on my bedroom dresser in the privacy of my bedroom. Then I hop in the shower. So nice and private and fast.

I want to encourage you to work in a 30 minute in-home walk at least 3 times a week. I walk in my home everyday but one and that is on the sabbath. It is good to give the body one day of rest.

Get up and take a walk and never leave home ~

Teresa

Published in: on January 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a wonderful way to get exercise modestly! Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Thanks for the tip! I looked her up and found that there are a lot of her video clips up on YouTube for people to try out 🙂 I think I’ll give it a go with my kids!


Leave a Reply

