Love Language ~

I have this book, and LOVE it !! I have found it to be a great big help in pleasing my husband, family and friends. It is important to find out what your Love Language is and also to be able to speak your families Love Language. Here is a list below to try to help you decide. Most people speak more than one but one usually is always dominate.

Teresa ~

“The 5 Love Languages”Dr. Gary Chapman

~ Words of Affirmation
Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

~ Quality Time
In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.

~ Receiving Gifts
Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.

~ Acts of Service
Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

~ Physical Touch
This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

Published in: on July 19, 2010 at 12:32 am  Comments (6)  

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love this book too. Hubby and I use it during our premarital counseling. We also have the Five Love Languages of Children.

    • Yes I have all the other books, love them!!

  2. Really good stuff! I didn’t even realize what my language was until pretty recent. Even though most of these speak to me, quality time and touch are the main ones.

    This was the biggest help, when I decided to learn what language my family members speak. It has definitely aided me in building stronger relationships!

    Thanks for sharing, Mom! 🙂

    • I love speaking your language. My main one is “acts of service” and you are so good to ask ” is there anything I can do mom?

  3. This looks like a great book!
    I would say that mine is Words of Affirmation. I need to know that everyone else knows how awesome I am. ;P


    • Yes , I think everyone likes Words of Affirmation. Zig Ziggler says that we should try to say something affirming to everyone we meet each day.

      Thanks for all your comments, they make my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: