Table Manners ~

Basic Top Ten Table Manners ~

1 .Chew with your mouth shut.
2 .Avoid slurping, smacking, blowing your nose, or other gross noises. (If necessary, excuse yourself to take care of whatever it is you need to take care of.)
3. Don’t use your utensils like a shovel or as if you’ve just stabbed the food you’re about to eat.
4. Don’t pick your teeth at the table.
5 .Remember to use your napkin at all times.
6 .Wait until you’re done chewing to sip or swallow a drink. (The exception is if you’re choking.)
7 .Cut only one piece of food at a time.
8 .Avoid slouching and don’t place your elbows on the table while eating (though it is okay to prop your elbows on the table while conversing between courses.)
9 .Instead of reaching across the table for something, ask for it to be passed to you.
10 .Always say ‘excuse me’ whenever you leave the table.

Published in: on July 8, 2010 at 3:07 am  Comments (7)  

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I actually thought that we were doing OK in this area until we hosted a Spanish exchange student for two months last fall.
    I never realized how much the kids talked about bodily functions at the table until we had a guest snickering night after night… 😛

    ((Hugs))
    Laura

    • 🙂 Children will do the oddest things at the oddest times. Haha !! Gotta love em

  2. Is that image meant to say “I kill you”.. ? Just curious..

    • Yes, it does I don’t like that about that photo. I could not find a good pic for that post. I liked everything about that photo except that blurp. I do not know how to take it off. I may just pic a differnt photo. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, again. Love ya !!!

      Teresa ~

  3. I am sorry if the previous post picture was offensive. This one is much better I feel.

    Thanks for mentioning it !!!

    Teresa ~

  4. I printed these rules and put them in a standing frame on the hutch next to the dinner table. I didnt mention them but noticed a couple of the kids going over on their own to read them. At lunch the other day I was addressing holding the fork like a shovel. Glad its on the list. Thank you for posting these rules.

    • Haha, that is a great idea….glad it was a blessing to your family !!! Maybe they will catch on just by reading it for themselves as they pass by 🙂
      Thanks for letting me know, Laura.

      ~Teresa


Leave a Reply

