The Quiet Hour

Have you learned the value of a quiet hour? It may not be an hour literally, of sixty minutes, but it is a season sway from the rush and whirl of the day, when you may get your bearings and know where you are. We live in an age when everyone is in a hurry, and the Christian housewife does not escape the rush. From morning till night, week in and week out, her hands are full of work.

But the quiet hour is best for the wearied spirit. Soon the fogginess of mind will disappear and give place to clear, active thinking, and you will be rested.

A wise mother will, provide opportunities for her children to be alone so that each one will learn how to fall back upon himself for counsel and entertainment. If children, when they get all worked up and out of humor, were more often sent away to think it out by themselves, many a hard time could be passed smoothly.

Those who would keep their spirits in rest and quietness should not wait till driven to seek rest and quiet from every vexation of spirit, but should make a practice of going aside a portion of every day for meditation, contemplation, and prayer.

taken from ~ Beautiful Girlhood

Published in: on June 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a nice idea, I’ve thought about having my kids (ages 7, 5, 4, 2) have their own quiet time, but I’m not sure how I would do it. And sometimes I would even feel guilty for having them be in their rooms alone when they are young like that. I think my 7 year old daughter would be fine, but I’m pretty sure that even my 5 year old would want to come out of his room after 30 min., any ideas (or do you think they are too young?) Also, my 4 kids share 2 rooms, so if my 2 year old daughter and 4 year old son were having a nap (good time for the others to have their quiet time) would you suggest allowing the others to be in the living room at the same time?
    I’d appreciate any suggestions you may have,
    Julianne 🙂

  2. I really need alone time everyday. It doesn’t always happen with 4 kids to look after of course but, I try. I’m a much better Mummy if I get it.

    ((Hugs))
    Laura


Leave a Reply

